Interior restoration of a trunk

The trunk interiors consist of two parts, the tank and the cover. The tub is the lower part of the trunk, where the contents are stored. We generally find inside the tank, a series of canvas frames, 1, 2 or 3 depending on the height of the trunk. These frames were used to keep the clothes of the client in complete safety and could sometimes be arranged in a specific way, to accommodate collars, a cane, an umbrella, shoes, hat, etc.

In the hood, the upper part of the trunk, we find a series of tape stretched over a padded surface . Oh rigorously   designed to follow the shape and protect the contents of the tank once the trunk is closed, it quickly became a distinctive sign of luxury trunks, as well as a very practical "photo holder". As soon as the customer opened his trunk, he could directly see his family photos, pinned to the fleece or wedged between the wool ribbons.

This trunk has been fully restored inside. We first removed the original linen cover, then prepared the wooden support to receive a new covering. This preparation   requires the break of a first " cardboard" canvas on the wood, so as to harmonize the whole and avoid bubbles or imperfection on the final coating . The pieces of canvas are then cut to the exact dimensions of the tank, so as to cover the first cardboard support. A pleat is adjusted at the edges to properly finish the stabilizer. We can then add a series of nails around the edge and thus ensure a perfect maintenance of the affixed canvas.

Canvas repair of the tank

Capiton " Etoile "

Louis Vuitton woven mail trunk , circa 1902

A cotton ribbon is stretched over 8 distinctive points , so as to form a star pattern. Less sophisticated than a usual quilting, this covering was often used for trunks with a metallic finish or covered with black canvas.

Capiton " matelassé "

Louis Vuitton striped cabin trunk , circa 1880

A material   quilted is fixed on the hood, then covered with a satin canvas, stretched and studded at each ends. We then present several strips of cotton ribbon, stretched symmetrically with a series of nails.

Terminology of a trunk

Malle wardrobe Goyard en Goyardine, vers 1915

Original quilting with stained cotton twill all over the left part

Removal of old tapes and nails covering the stretched canvas

Removal of stained canvas and old wool fleece

Changing the wool fleece and preparing the new twill

Nailing and fixing of new ribbons (white on buyer's request).

Restoration quote - Free sales expertise

Charly: +33 (0) 6 43 65 42 45 - David: +33 (0) 6 24 85 02 96

Mail: contact@bagagecollection.com

The models

 © 2020 by Charly Martin

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Restauration intérieur d'une malle 

Les intérieurs de malle sont constitués de deux parties, la cuve et le capot. La cuve est la partie inférieure de la malle, là ou le contenu est stocké. On retrouve généralement à l'intérieur de la cuve, une série de châssis entoilé, 1, 2 ou 3 en fonction de la hauteur de la malle. Ces châssis servait à maintenir les vêtements du client en toute sécurité et pouvait parfois être aménagés de façon spécifique, pour accueillir les cols, une canne, un parapluie, des chaussures, le chapeau, etc.

On retrouve dans le capot, la partie supérieure de la malle, une série de rubans tendus sur une surface molletonnée. Originellement conçu pour venir épouser la forme et protéger le contenu de la cuve une fois la malle fermée, c'est rapidement devenu un signe distinctif des malles de luxes, ainsi qu'un très pratique "porte photos". Dés que le client ouvrait sa malle, il pouvait directement voir ses photos de famille, épinglées dans le molleton ou coincées entre les rubans lainés.

Cette malle a été restaurée entièrement a l'intérieur. Nous avons d'abord supprimé le revêtement d'origine en toile de lin, puis préparé le support en bois à recevoir un nouvel habillage. Cette préparation nécessite la pause d'une première toile "cartonnée" sur le bois, de façon à harmoniser l'ensemble et éviter les bulles ou imperfections sur le revêtement final. On découpe ensuite les morceaux de toile aux dimensions exactes de la cuve, de façon à recouvrir le premier support cartonné. Un plis est ajusté sur les bords, pour finir correctement l'entoilage. On peut par la suite ajouter une série de clous autour de la tranche et ainsi assurer un parfait maintient de la toile apposée. 

Réfection en toile de la cuve

Capot en étoile 

Malle courrier tissée Louis Vuitton, vers 1902

Un ruban de coton est tendu sur 8 points distinctifs, de façon à former un motif en étoile. Moins sophistiqué qu'un capiton habituel, ce revêtement été souvent utilisé pour les malles finition métalliques ou recouvertes de toile noire. 

Capot capitonné 

Malle cabine Louis Vuitton rayé, vers 1880

Une matière matelassée est fixée sur le capot, puis recouverte d'une toile satinée, tendue et cloutée à chaque extrémités. On vient par la suite présenter plusieurs bandes de ruban en coton, tendues en symétrie grâce à une série de clous. 

Réfection d'un capiton 

Malle wardrobe Goyard en Goyardine, vers 1915

Capiton d'origine avec le sergé de coton taché sur toute la partie gauche

Retrait des anciens rubans et des clous recouvrant la toile tendue

Retrait de la toile tachée et de l'ancien molleton en laine

Changement du molleton en laine et préparation du nouveau sergé

Cloutage et fixation des nouveaux rubans (blanc sur la demande de l'acheteur). 

Devis de restauration - Expertise de vente gratuite 

Charly : +33 (0)6 43 65 42 45 - David : +33 (0)6 24 85 02 96

Mail : contact@bagagecollection.com

Les modèles

 © 2020 by Charly Martin

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon